25 May 2017 | Last updated 11:49 PM

Delivering Change Foundation
Delivering Maharashtra
Maharashtra Speaks
Saam TV
Yin For Change

More Pune
Mumbai News
Rest of Maha
Fadnavis sworn in CM with a nine-member compact team
Mrityunjay Bose | Friday, 31 October 2014 AT 04:36 PM IST
Send by email    Printer-friendly version

Mumbai: Young, soft-spoken and foreign-educated Devendra Fadnavis was on Friday sworn in as the 27th Chief Minister of Maharashtra – heading the first-ever BJP government.

Besides, Fadnavis, 44, seven ministers of Cabinet rank and two Ministers of State were sworn in at an impressive function at the Wankhede Stadium here.

The Cabinet-rank Ministers who were sworn in are Eknath Khadse, Sudhir Mungantiwar, Vinod Tawde, Pankaja Munde -- all members of the BJP's state Core Committee--, Prakash Mehta, Chandrakant Patil and Vishnu Savara. The Ministers of State are Dilip Kamble and Vidya Thakur.

They were administered oath of office and secrecy by Maharashtra Governor Ch Vidyasagar Rao in presence of Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

The 44-year-old law graduate, Fadnavis, has strong roots in the RSS, has been handpicked by Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah.

He is a four-time MLA and represents the Nagpur South West constituency of the Vidarbha region. He is the fourth Chief Minister from Vidarbha and the second Brahmin to hold the chair.

At a grand event at the Wankhede Stadium here, Governor Chennamaneni Vidyasagar Rao administered oath of office and secrecy to Fadnavis in presence of Modi, a host of politicians, celebrities, sportspersons, corporate leaders and who's who of India.

Fadnavis's wife Amruta, who is an Associate Vice President with Axis Bank in Nagpur was in the dais while his daughter, Divija, was seated in the audience with relatives. His mother, Sarita Fadnavis, too was present. The new CM's father was an RSS activist and BJP MLC late Gangadhar Fadnavis.

A lot of balancing act and tightrope walking has been done by the BJP leadership in selecting the ministry as all sections of the society and regions have been represented in the mini-ministry – which is expected to be expanded – once Fadnavis wins the trust vote in the Maharashtra Legislative Assembly.

Chief Ministers of BJP-ruled states including Vasundhara Raje (Rajasthan), Anandiben Patel (Gujarat), Manohar Parrikar (Goa), Raman Singh (Chhattisgarh) and Manohar Lal Khattar (Haryana) and those governed by allies including Chandrababu Naidu (Andhra Pradesh) and Parkash Singh Badal (Punjab) also attended the event.

Apart from BJP patriarch L K Advani, Union Ministers Nitin Gadkari, M Venkaiah Naidu, Ravishanker Prasad, Prakash Javadekar and Radhamohan Singh, several leaders were present.

Shiv Sena President Uddhav Thackeray entered mid-way while the swearing in ceremony was underway. Besides former Chief Minister Prithviraj Chavan of the Congress and former Deputy Chief Ministers Ajit Pawar and Chhagan Bhujbal, Speaker of Maharashtra Legislative Assembly Dilip Walse-Patil and Chairman of Maharashtra Legislative Council Shivajirao Deshmukh were present on the occasion.

Add Your Comment
Your Name
25 May 2017
Content limited to 1000 characters,1000 characters remaining.

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.