30 April 2017 | Last updated 10:54 PM

Delivering Change Foundation
Delivering Maharashtra
Maharashtra Speaks
Saam TV
Yin For Change

More Pune
Mumbai News
Rest of Maha
State EC announces dates of local body polls
Pandurang Mhaske | Wednesday, 11 January 2017 AT 11:26 PM IST
Send by email    Printer-friendly version

Mumbai : The State Election Commission (SEC) announced the election dates for 26 zilla parishads (ZP), 283 panchayat samitis and 10 municipal corporations on Wednesday.

The process for ZP and panchayat samiti elections will be held in two phases, and the municipal corporation elections in one phase. The first phase will be held on February 16 and the second on February 21.

State Chief Election Commissioner JS Saharia declared the dates of the elections.

Seven crore voters will exercise their franchise for the local body elections. As these elections engage more than 70 per cent voters in the State, it has gained importance for the ruling alliance of BJP and Shiv Sena as the results would be seen as a mandate for the government’s performance.

The first phase on February 16 will cover 15 ZPs and 165 out of 283 panchayat samitis. The second phase on February 21 will cover the remaining 11 ZPs and Panchayat Samitis. The election for ZP and municipal corporations in the same district will be on the same day. All 10 municipal corporations will go to polls on February 21.
Counting of both the phases will take place on February 23.

“Districts like Jalgaon, Ahmednagar, Aurangabad, Jalna, Parbhani, Hingoli, Beed, Nanded, Osmanabad, Latur, Buldana, Yavatmal, Wardha, Chandrapur and Gadchiroli,” he said.

“In the second phase, districts like Raigad, Ratnagiri, Sindhudurg, Satara, Sangli, Kolhapur, Pune, Solapur, Nashik, Amravati and Gadchiroli will go for polls on February 21. As many as 118 panchayat samitis will also go for voting on the same day. Besides, the 10 municipal corporations such as Mumbai, Nagpur, Thane, Solapur, Akola, Amravati, Pune, Nanded, Ulhasnagar and Pimpri Chinchwad will also go for polls on February 21. We have tried to hold municipal corporation and ZP elections from the same districts on a single day,” Saharia said.

The terms of these corporations are going to expire between March 4 and April 3. The tenures of ZPs expire on March 21 and panchayat samitis on March 13. According to law, the new elected body should be formed before the old body’s term ends.  “There is no change in the limit on election expenses. Limit for the expenditure for ‘A’ grade municipal corporation is Rs 5 lakh, for ‘B’ and ‘C’ grade municipal corporation it is Rs 4 lakh and for ‘D’ grade corporation Rs 3 lakh. Candidates for ZP and Panchayat Samitis can spend up to Rs 3 lakh. The candidates have to open a separate account in the bank and do all expenses through the same account. They have to submit details of expenses in 30 days after the poll date. While the political party has no limits for expenditure, they can submit their expenditure details in 60 days after the poll,” Saharia said.


Add Your Comment
Your Name
30 April 2017
Content limited to 1000 characters,1000 characters remaining.

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.