01 May 2017 | Last updated 12:19 AM

Delivering Change Foundation
Delivering Maharashtra
Maharashtra Speaks
Saam TV
Yin For Change

More Pune
Mumbai News
Rest of Maha
Padmanabhan wins UBA’s first of Slam Dunk Contest
Sports Reporter | Monday, 20 March 2017 AT 09:58 AM IST
Send by email    Printer-friendly version

Mahesh Padmanabhan of Hyderabad Sky won the UBA Pro Basketball league’s Slam Dunk Contest, The 3-point Shootout at Dr Shamaprasad Mukharjee Stadium in Goa.

It would have been a clean sweep for Hyderabad Sky during the UBA’s very first Slam Dunk Contest and 3-Point Competition. The 3-point shootout was won by Mahesh Padmanabhan of Hyderabad Sky as he outshot Jairam Jat and Agu, both from Chennai Slam, in the final round.

He took home $1000 as his prize. His teammate Mak Boskailo tied with Ronald March of Delhi Capitals in the final round of the Slam Dunk Contest as both Mak and Ronald won $1000 each as the prize.

Each team wasn’t represented by participants as the selection was based on choosing the best in the league for the respective events.

The three-point shootout was a closely contested affair with the shooters playing string music on the net. Each player shot from five racks containing five balls each, with each makes counting for one point and the last ball in each rack counting as a money ball for two points. The players had 60 seconds to go through the racks.

Mahesh, Jairam and Agu moved to the final round where Mahesh took home the honours with his remarkably consistent sharpshooting.

Slam-dunk contest

The Slam Dunk Contest was judged by Tommy Fisher, UBA Chairman, commentator Shaun Golden and Haryana Gold player Eban Hyams. Here’s a look at the participants:

The one-of-a-kind All-star exhibition contest featured a never-before-seen collection of talent on one basketball court. Fifteen best players from the UBA North Division took on the fifteen best from the South Division in an exciting and flashy contest.

In a star-studded game, North Division All-Stars beat South Division All-Stars by the score of 163-155. Ronald March (47 pts), Alex Scales and De’Sean Mattox (26 points each) shined for North Division. While Tevin Kelly (43 pts) and MakBoskailo (40 pts) shined for South Division.

Add Your Comment
Your Name
01 May 2017
Content limited to 1000 characters,1000 characters remaining.

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.